AV Preeminent
Florida Workers' Advocates
Florida Legal Elite 2023


After an Accident How Long Do I Have to Report It to My Employer?

You should report accidents immediately but no later than 30 days after the accident.

When Should My Employer Notify Their Insurance That There Has Been Accident?

Employers usually report injuries as soon as they are reported by the injured worker; in most cases no later than 7 days. The employer’s insurance company then sends you an informational brochure which explains your rights and responsibilities as well as additional information pertaining to the workers’ compensation law.

What Kind of Medical Treatment Am I Entitled To?

Initially, a medical provider, usually a clinic, will be provided by the insurance company. Thereafter, if the clinic recommends it, appropriate specialists will be authorized, depending on the nature of the injuries. However, it is possible to choose your own doctor, under certain circumstances. A lawyer can assist you with this.

Will I Be Responsible for the Medical Bills?

No, medical bills including all x-rays, MRIs, CT Scans, therapy and prescriptions, will be paid in full by the workers’ compensation insurance company.

Filling out a workers' compensation form on a wooden desk.

Contact Us

Free Initial Consultation 305-539-9000